Faculty Honors & Awards


IEEE Fellows

Faculty Year Citation
Swarup Bhunia 2024 For contributions to the design of secure and trustworthy microelectronic systems
Volker Sorger 2024 For contributions to the optoelectronic devices and photonic-electronic ASICs
Shuo Wang 2019 For contributions to reduction of electromagnetic interference in electronic systems
Mark Tehranipoor 2018 For contributions to integrated circuits security and trust
Scott Thompson 2007 For contributions to common metal oxide semiconductor technology for high-volume manufacturing
Jian Li 2005 For contributions to adaptive beam forming, radar imaging, and target detection
Vladimir A. Rakov 2005 For contributions to the understanding of lightning discharge phenomena
Sean Meyn 2002 For contributions to stochastic control, dynamic optimization, and control of large networks
José C. Príncipe 2000 For development of the gamma neural model and for its applications in signal processing
José Fortes 1999 For contributions to the theory and practice of parallel computing
Mark E. Law 1997 For contributions to integrated circuits process modeling and simulation
W. Kent Fuchs 1995 For contributions to reliable computing
Pramod Khargonekar (Emeritus) 1993  
Jacob Hammer (Emeritus) 1992 For contributions to nonlinear control and system theory
Arnost Neugroschel (Emeritus) 1989 For contributions to materials characterization for transistor and solar cell analysis and design
Martin A. Uman (Emeritus) 1988 For contributions to the understanding of lightning phenomena
Jerry G. Fossum (Emeritus) 1983 For contributions to the theory and technology of silicon solar cells and transistors
Donald G. Childers 1976  
Chih-Tang (Tom) Sah 1969  

IEEE Centennial Medal

Leon Couch (Emeritus), 1984

IEEE Signal Processing Society

Claude Shannon-Harry Nyquist Technical Achievement Award
José Príncipe, “for fundamental contributions to adaptive learning systems.” 2020

IEEE Computational Intelligence Society

IEEE Neural Network Pioneer Award, José Príncipe, 2011

IEEE J. J. Ebers Award in Electron Devices

Mark Law, 2010
Jerry Fossum (Emeritus), 2004
Chih-Tang (Tom) Sah (Emeritus), 1981

IEEE Jack Morton Award

Chih-Tang (Tom) Sah (Emeritus), 1989

Other Fellow Awards

Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Sciences

W. Kent Fuchs

Fellow of American Association of the Advancement of Sciences

Jóse Príncipe, 2022
W. Kent Fuchs, 2010
José B. Fortes, (2012)

Fellow, National Academy of Inventors

José Príncipe
Mark Tehranipoor
David Arnold

Fellow, American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering

José Príncipe, 2006 

Fellow of Association for Computing Machinery

W. Kent Fuchs
Mark Tehranipoor

Fellow of Acoustical Society of America

Mark Sheplak, 2009
Donald G. Childers, 1986

Fellow of the International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering

José Principe, 2012

Fellow of American Meteorological Society (AMS)

Vladimir Rakov

Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)

Vladimir Rakov

Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU)

Vladimir Rakov

Fellow of SPIE/Optical Society of America

Volker Sorger, 2022
Ramakant Srivastava, 1999
Ramu V. Ramaswamy, 1991
Peter S. Zory, 1984

Young Investigator Awards

ARO Young Investigator

Domenic Forte, 2016

DARPA Young Faculty Award

David Arnold, 2009
Roozbeh Tabrizian, 2019
Najme Ebrahimi, 2021

DARPA Director’s Fellowship

Roozbeh Tabrizian, 2021

National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) New Investigator Award

Alina Zare, 2014


Jian Li, 1994-99
William R. Eisenstadt, 1985-90


Jian Li, 1996-99


Faculty Year
Navid Asadi 2022
Swarup Bhunia 2011
Philip Feng 2015
Domenic Forte 2017
Jie Fu 2022
Baoyun Ge 2024
Jing Guo 2009
Sanjeev Koppal 2020
Ann Ramirez (Gordon-Ross) 2010
Roozbeh Tabrizian 2018
Mark Tehranipoor 2009
Shuo Wang 2012
Yong-Kyu “YK” Yoon 2008
Tuba Yavuz 2020
Alina Zare 2014



Mark Law, 1992


Volker Sorger, 2019
Philip Feng, 2019
Domenic Forte, 2019
David Arnold, 2008

Other Awards

National Academy of Engineering (NAE)

Chih-Tang (Tom) Sah, 1986

National Academy of Sciences (NAS)

Rudolf Kalman, 1994

American Geophysical Union’s John Adam Fleming Medal

Martin A. Uman, 2001

Fulbright Scholar

Haniph A. Latchman 2001, 2013-2014
Ramakant Srivastava, 2001