Chair’s Message

Chair’s Message


Welcome to the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Florida.


National Rankings

U.S. News & World Report lists the University of Florida as one of the top five best public universities in its 2022 list of Best Colleges, for the first time in our history. Our graduate EE program is ranked #14 among public universities. Rankings come with their usual caveats, but these numbers do illustrate that ECE Florida is well-positioned to educate the next generation of New Engineers.

The Mission of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Florida is to:

  1. Advance the state of the art in research needed to solve important societal problems in electrical and computer engineering
  2. Educate the future generation of electrical and computer engineers
  3. Instill a culture of excellence in research and education

Whether you are an alumnus, current or prospective student, faculty member, staff, friend or a curious member of the public, we welcome you to join the ECE Florida family. Please keep in touch, and we welcome a visit when you are in Gainesville.

One of the best ways to keep up with the department is to subscribe to our electronic newsletter. Whether you’re a prospective student or an alum, ECE Florida News is filled with plenty of news and information for anyone interested in electrical and computer engineering.

We look forward to hearing from you.