ECE Florida Welcomes Mark Tehranipoor as Department Chair


TehranipoorECE Florida is excited to announce that Dr. Mark Tehranipoor has assumed leadership of the department in his new role as department chair, effective June 3. Dr. Tehranipoor took over the role from Dr. John Harris, who served as chair since 2009.

Dr. Tehranipoor is more than accustomed to leadership roles. He is the Intel Charles E. Young preeminence endowed chair professor in cybersecurity; the program director for cybersecurity in the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering; the director of the Florida Institute for Cybersecurity (FICS) Research; the director of the Edaptive Computing Inc. Transition Center (ECI-TC); co-director of the AFOSR/AFRL Center of Excellence on Enabling Cyber Defense in Analog and Mixed Signal Domain (CYAN); and the co-director of the National Microelectronic Security Training (MEST) Center. He also served as associate chair for research & strategic initiatives for the ECE Department, 2017–19.

Dr. Tehranipoor is a renowned researcher in the area of hardware security and trust and has led a number of major initiatives in the domain. He is co-founder of the IEEE International Symposium on Hardware-Oriented Security and Trust (HOST), IEEE Asian-HOST, and the IEEE International Conference on Physical Assurance and Inspection of Electronics (PAINE). He is the co-founder of the Journal on Hardware and Systems Security (HaSS) and is currently serving as its editor-in-chief. He also led development of Trust-Hub sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF). Dr. Tehranipoor is a fellow of IEEE, a fellow of ACM, and a golden core member of IEEE. Dr. Tehranipoor has published 500+ journal articles and refereed conference papers and has delivered more than 220 invited talks and keynote addresses in the area of microelectronic assurance. In addition, he has 15 patents issued, and has published 13 books, two of which are textbooks. His projects have been sponsored by 50+ companies and Government agencies.

I am excited for the opportunity to serve as the chair of this outstanding department and look forward to working with faculty, staff, and students. The success of the ECE department is critical to advancing the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering and the University of Florida and will directly enhance the economic competitiveness of the State of Florida and our nation. The discoveries made by our faculty and students will pave the way for a better future for all of us.
—Dr. Mark Tehranipoor

Dr. Tehranipoor is expected to be laser-focused on his ambitious goals for the department. As Dean Abernathy noted in her announcement to colleagues, the next chair of ECE Florida will be tasked with enhancing the department’s performance in the following areas:

  • Achieving top-ten status in USN&WR graduate program rankings
  • Enhancing culture of world-class scholarly research and teaching
  • Increasing inter- and multi-disciplinary collaboration
  • Increasing corporate partnerships and support
  • Strengthening commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion

To learn more about his research, visit his website. Please join the department in congratulating Dr. Mark Tehranipoor.