A virtual trophy for recipients of ECE Excellence AwardsAs the semester winds down, so does the 2019-20 ECE Excellence Awards season. Ten awards in all were given out by the department for the 2019-20 academic year. Some were first announced at the IEEE Spring Banquet, and the remainder were announced last night during the ECE Graduate Student Organization (GSO) Spring Banquet. Both banquets were virtual and were held via the Zoom teleconferencing platform.

This year especially we are proud of our awardees—the COVID-19 pandemic brought unexpected challenges and hurdles to faculty, students and staff alike.

Here’s a recap of all the awards:

Award Recipient
Faculty Excellence in Research Alina Zare
Faculty Excellence in Teaching Greg Stitt
Faculty Excellence in Service John Shea
Graduate Student Excellence in Research Boyi Zhang
Graduate Student Excellence in Teaching Barukh Rhode
Graduate Student Excellence in Service Marino Guzman
Undergraduate Student Excellence in Research Stasiu Chyczewski
Undergraduate Student Excellence in Teaching Angela Cook
Undergraduate Student Excellence in Service Lisa Wick
ECE Staff Excellence Jason Kawaja